Lero and Host Institutions

SyMeCo is coordinated by Lero, the Science Foundation Ireland Research Centre for Software.

Lero brings together expert software teams from universities and institutes of technology across Ireland in a coordinated centre of research excellence with a strong industry focus.

All fellowships will be based in Ireland at one of the participating host institutions. The fellows will be hosted by their supervisor host institution.   

The University of Limerick is an independent, internationally focused university. It is a young, energetic and enterprising university with a proud record of innovation in education and excellence in research and scholarship. Located on the west coast of Ireland along the picturesque River Shannon and enjoys an unspoiled natural environment blended with state-of-the-art teaching and research facilities. 

UL website

University of Galway has been inspiring minds since 1845 as a research led university and is one of the oldest and largest universities in Ireland.

Situated in Galway City on the West of Ireland, which is renowned for its unique culture, creative industries, medical technologies, marine ecology and economy, and innovation.

UoG website

Dublin City University (DCU) is a young, dynamic and ambitious university with a distinctive mission to transform lives and societies through education, research and innovation.

The University has earned a reputation as Ireland’s university of enterprise, through its strong, active links with academic, research, and industry partners both at home and overseas. 

DCU website

University College Cork (UCC) was established in 1845. UCC is an internationally competitive, research-led university that plays a key role in the development of Ireland’s knowledge-based economy. Our institutional research strategy focuses on creating and supporting world-leading clusters of researchers, building on the research strengths of the University.

UCC website

Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, Ireland’s vibrant capital city. Founded in 1592 by Queen Elizabeth I, Trinity has a tradition of scholarship spanning more than four centuries, and is home to talented and inquiring minds, a liberal education, and research conducted at the frontiers of disciplines.

TCD website

As Ireland’s largest university, with its great strength and diversity of disciplines, UCD embraces its role to contribute to the flourishing of Ireland through the study of people, society, business, economy, culture, languages and the creative arts, as well as through research and innovation.

UCD website

Maynooth University is an internationally recognised institution located 25 kilometres outside of Dublin, Ireland, and is the nation’s fastest growing university.

Maynooth University is a place of lively contrasts – a modern institution, dynamic, rapidly-growing, research-led and engaged, yet grounded in historic academic strengths and scholarly traditions.

MU website

Munster Technological University (MTU) is a multi-campus technological university, contributing to the region through the provision of academic programmes that support student development and opportunities, education and research. MTU has an extensive and impressive regional footprint with six campuses across the South-West region in Cork and Kerry.

The MTU Research mission is to continue building on niche strengths and to develop sustainable and productive research, innovation, technology transfer, and postgraduate education across all its faculties.

MTU website